October 5, 2012 |

The Chapters of Bankruptcy

By Pizza Today

The kind of bankruptcy that a business files is not always the same and will require consultation with legal counsel to determine which filing makes the most sense. The five types of bankruptcy are:

• Chapter 7. This applies to an individual, a couple or business partners. A trustee is put in charge of identifying which assets will be exempted from bankruptcy. The rest of the assets are then sold and distributed among creditors.

• Chapter 9. This type of bankruptcy proceeding particularly deals with municipalities.

• Chapter 11. Usually only applies to business corporations. It usually involves restructuring, debt consolidation and other means of reorganization.

• Chapter 12. This type of bankruptcy is exclusively for family farmers and fishermen. All debts are paid out of future earnings.

• Chapter 13. A bit like Chapter 11, but for an individual. The filer is allowed to retain his property and pay off his credits out of his future salary.


loyalty program promotion

Lasting Loyalty

If you’ve got a rewards program, here’s how to make it really work Pitfire Pizza tried printing punch cards... Read More

Protect & Serve

Don’t overlook data protection responsibility Hundreds of credit cards and debit cards are swiped daily in your restaurant. Add... Read More

Key Indicators

The Most Important Performance Metrics for Your Pizzeria What gets measured gets managed. If you don’t keep a solid... Read More